Page tree

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 2 Next »

Contents

A join token is a special-purpose secret used to authenticate a virtual on-prem host to automatically associate itself with its corresponding user account and establish a connection to BloxOne DDI.

Note

A join token is necessary when you set up a virtual appliance; it is not required for BloxOne physical appliance deployment.

To deploy a virtual appliance, you must first create a join token and issue it to the corresponding on-prem host when you set up your machine. You can use the same join token to deploy multiple virtual appliances. You can also create as many join tokens as you need and use them for different purposes. For example, you can create one join token for a set of remote devices, and create another one for an admin who will manage on-prem hosts for a short period of time. You can revoke the join token when the admin no longer manages the hosts. You can also revoke a token if a join token has been compromised for any reason. An appliance cannot be connected to the cloud if you use a revoked token. Note that join tokens are valid until you revoke them through the Cloud Services Portal.

Creating Join Tokens

To create a join token, complete the following:

  1. From the Cloud Services Portal, click Manage -> On-Prem Hosts.  
  2. Click the Join Tokens tab, and then click Create Token.
  3. On the Create Token page, complete the following:
    • Name: Enter a name for the new token.
    • Description: Enter some information about this token,
    • TAGS: Click Add to associate keys with the on-prem host and specify the following:
      • KEY: Enter a meaningful name for the key, such as a location or a department.  

      • VALUE: Enter a value for the key. Select the respective check box and click Remove to delete the associated key. For information about tags, see Using Tags.

  4. Click Save & Close.
  5. The join token string appears in the Copy Token? dialog box. Click Copy to copy the token. You should copy the token string and save it in a place where you can find it later. You need this token string when you configure your virtual on-prem hosts.

Warning

The join token you created appears only once in the dialog box. When you close the dialog box, you will not be able to retrieve the join token. Ensure that you copy it and save it for deployment purposes.

You can now deploy the virtual on-prem host using either the Docker or OVA package that Infoblox provides. For information about how to deploy virtual on-prem hosts, see Deploying On-Prem Hosts.

Viewing Join Tokens

To view all join tokens you have created, do the following:

  1. From the Cloud Services Portal, click Manage -> On-Prem Hosts.
  2. Click the Join Tokens tab, and the Cloud Services Portal displays the following information:
    • TOKEN NAME: The name of the token.
    • STATUS: The current status of the token. This can be Active or Revoked.
    • COUNT: The number of times you have used this token to set up your virtual appliances. You can reuse the same token multiple times for different virtual appliances. This number is useful for security purposes. For example, if you have given a join token for a certain number of appliances using this token for connection, which does not match the number showing here, you might want to review the appliances that join your network.
    • LAST USED: The timestamp when the token was last used, in mm/dd/yy hh:mm:ss time zone format.
    • DESCRIPTION: Information about the join token.

Revoking Join Tokens

You can revoke a join token that you no longer need it, or if its security has been compromised.

To revoke a join token, complete the following:

  1. From the Cloud Services Portal, click Manage -> On-Prem Hosts.
  2. Click the Join Tokens tab.
  3. On the Join Tokens page, select the check boxes of the join tokens you want to revoke.
  4. Click the Revoke button. In the dialog box, click Revoke to confirm.

Note

  • Once you revoke a token, the token status changes to Revoked and it is not longer valid, and you will not be able to use it to deploy any virtual appliances.
  • Revoking a join token only prevents new on-prem hosts from joining the Cloud Services Portal, it does not affect the on-prem hosts that have already joined using the same token.



  • No labels

This page has no comments.